change font dimension

A- A A+

change layout site

change the site contrast

screen reader

Standards & Guidelines: A Quality Assurance System based on Peer Reviews for the ENIC-NARIC Networks

The peer review concept with Standards & Guidelines for improving the recognition procedures of the ENIC-NARIC centers has been developed as a quality assurance instrument since 2012 for the ENIC-NARIC networks and is based on the criteria of the Lisbon Recognition Convention (LRC). Individual ENIC-NARIC centres can use it on a fully voluntary basis to review and improve their practices towards compliance with the LRC, in areas they themselves find most fitting.

The instrument consists of 6 Standards & Guidelines, and a protocol for conducting a self-evaluation (including SWOT) and an external peer review by two other ENIC-NARIC centres. The self-evaluation and a peer review have a formative approach focused on continuous improvement in areas chosen by the centre under review. An external peer review is recommended every 5 years or in case of major changes to the centre.

The “Standards & Guidelines” for the networks were developed over the last years by a large group of ENIC-NARICs and quality assurance experts, with co-funding from the European Commission (EARN, SQUARE, IMPACT, AR-NET, TST and TST2 projects). More than half of the ENIC-NARIC centers have already participated in these projects. An Overview of the Typology of ENIC-NARICs has been drafted in the SQUARE project and updated by the TST2 project to compare centres. The Standards & Guidelines were adopted by the centres of the ENIC-NARIC networks during their Annual Joint Meeting 2019 in Cologne.


A new round of peer reviews is taking place in 2024 with the following centres involved:

Centre under review reviewed by
Bosnia & Herzegovina tbd
Canada tbd
Georgia tbd
Latvia tbd
Malta tbd
Netherlands tbd

In the last round in 2022, six peer reviews have been carried out on site based on the following carrousel:

Centre under review reviewed by
Bosnia & Herzegovina Italy, Lithuania
Italy Denmark, Ireland (observer status), Turkey
Lithuania Moldova, Sweden
Moldova Bosnia & Herzegovina, Netherlands
Sweden Lithuania, Turkey
Turkey Bosnia & Herzegovina, Moldova

 Initially, Ukraine was participating in the project, but unfortunately had to withdraw from this round.


For undertaking the self-evaluation and peer review, please use the following documents:

For more information, contact Jenneke Lokhoff (